Why I’m thankful for Obama.

The problem isn’t abortion. The problem isn’t gay marriage. The problem isn’t “no prayer in schools”. The problem is fear. That’s right. Fear. Since I can remember, I’ve seen a steady decline in the ratio of “Christian ethics” being upheld by the government. More and more things which I would consider morally unethical are becoming prevalent in both society and law. Many Christians cannot stand this. They fight for their rights as both American citizens and disciples of God.

In a perfect world, yes, the government would take it’s lawmaking straight from the new testament, and everyone would think that’s fine and dandy. Problem is, that’s never going to happen. Thankfully, we live in a country where each citizen’s voice, regardless of faith or origin, can be heard. This means that as Christians, we are allowed to vote and influence our government towards solutions which we see as more ethical, moral, or just plain smart. We also hold tight to the fact that the country was founded on Christian beliefs, and should stay that way. Not so surprisingly, as the general public has degenerating morals, so does the government. Yet Christians seem surprised, they fight to hold on to a government which doesn’t represent it’s people. The American public is becoming less and less morally upstanding (in my humble opinion). So obviously a government which represents it’s people is going to become less and less in tune with the ideas of Christ. And that’s why I say the problem isn’t abortion, gay marriage, or any other ethical quandary  The problem is fear. We fear persecution

Don’t take this message the wrong way, I do believe, as disciples of God, that we have a duty (haha… duty…) to our country. We should speak out. We should make our voice heard. We should try to vote Christian ethics into government. Yet as the population shifts away from Christian ideals, we must realize that so will our government. This doesn’t mean we should fight harder. This is one of the simple reasons Christians are getting such a foul reputation. Excuse me while I address this issue.

We are the minority now, fighting to control the majority. It seems rather obvious that the majority will look on us as entitled and obnoxious. I am reminded of a child, used to getting their way, being told “no”. They simply cannot fathom a world where the thing they desire and ask for is not handed to them. Proverbs 16:28-29 states simply, “A perverse man stirs up dissension, … A violent man entices his neighbor.” I believe that these two verses place some good guidelines on how we should be outspoken. Are we stirring up dissension? Then we’ve gone too far, are we enticing our neighbor (to anger, malice, hate, you name it)? Then we’ve gone too far. We don’t have any more rights to the government we want than the next guy. If there’s more “next guy’s” than “us”, then it simply will not go our way. We are called to make our voice heard, but not to shout over the rest of America.

Why do we shout ? We’re scared. Christians in America are so scared of persecution. We are scared that our way of life will no longer be “acceptable” in the eyes of the law. We are so accustomed (especially the older generations) to having a life where our faith is the “norm”, and where we are absolutely unwavering in our stance that persecution is a bad thing for us.

I’m here to gently remind everyone that the bible is painfully clear about persecution. It’s a blessing. A blessing. It’s not something to avoid. It’s not something to be scared of. It’s something to thank God for. Even something to ask God for.

2 Timothy 3:12 is quite clear, “In fact, everyone who wants to live a godly life in Christ Jesus will be persecuted.” Well sign me up for persecution then! I want to live a godly life! A godly life was never said to be easy. You know when persecution is a requirement that it’s going to be rough. Yet surprisingly, we are delivered with another comforting verse. 2 Corinthians 12:9-10, “But he [the Lord] said to me, My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness. Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.” Man, if that’s not encouraging, I don’t know what is. A God who’s power is made perfect in weakness? Weakness is exactly what I’m heading towards! What with all this persecution and all.

My point is this. God never said we will have a Christian government. We can wish for one, we can vote for one, but that doesn’t always get us one. I believe God is going to use these changing winds in our society and government for his glory. Through persecution and peer pressure, Christians will simply either give up, or be given God’s power in their weakness. I pray this will lead to a much stronger “average” faith in America. I believe the church as a whole will only become more powerful (not in the law, but in love) than ever before in the coming decades. I look forward to that day and take comfort in God’s power now. It is both scary and exciting to head in a direction which does not allow for luke-warm Christianity. So are you in or out?

One thought on “Why I’m thankful for Obama.

Leave a Reply

